An Open Studio Tour at Monroe Center

February 29, 2012 § 4 Comments

Monroe Poster

Monroe Center added me to the poster advertising this event- I was so honored!

I love the sound of an “Open Studio Tour”… It just sounds so artsy! That’s exactly what the goings on were at the Monroe Center for the Arts in Hoboken this past Sunday. The building opened its doors to welcome in the visiting public and each studio or suite had the option to open up their places and participate.

SDB in lobby of Monroe

Never one to "travel lightly" here I am admiring the art and waiting for the elevator

The lower level gallery was decorated with beautiful “action” photos of many of the studio owners. What a fabulous way to show off the talented members of Monroe!

Creativity At Work

"Creativity At Work" is on display in the lower lever photo gallery at Monroe Center

Coming off our successful Valentine Cookie Workshop at Urban Arts, I was honored to be asked to participate in the Open Studio Tour and hang out for the day.

Urban Arts Collage

Just a few of the amazing student projects on display at Urban Arts

I set up a little pop up shop where I sold my decorative cookies and also “tested” my new “line” of cookies I have been calling “Just add milk”! (So far so good- More about this later)

Sweet Dani B Frog Princes, Crowns, Owls, Lemon Lovies...

Sweet Dani B Frog Princes, Crowns, Owls, Lemon Lovies...

I also set up an “Ice with Me” demo where people were welcomed to join me in icing a cookie!

Come Ice with Me! A few of my favorite shapes set up with my Expert Icing Bottles

Come Ice with Me! A few of my favorite shapes set up with my Expert Icing Bottles

SDB private cookie demo 2

This little sweetie watched carefully before icing his heart half

SDB private cookie demo

Another fan of pink royal icing... this adorable expert icer caught on quick!

These sisters complimented their hearts with their fabulous outfits!

These sisters complimented their hearts with their fabulous outfits!

SDB demo sisters icing cookies

Whoooo said sisters?! These expert icers did a beautiful job with their owls!

Later on, I took a stroll down the hall and could not have been more elated that the Puppet Heap was open! In my next life, I want to come back as a puppet maker…

Puppet heap

I could have stayed in The Puppet Heap for hours- their work is incredible! They also sell a few of their puppet designs- some are sweet like the puppy and others are scary cool like the squid- what an amazing gift item! I'll be back!

I also was happy to pop in and visit my new friends at Botanical Design. I have been looking for a floral vendor to recommend and these guys are amazing! They have just the right taste level and they are warm and welcoming. I love their studio space which is a combination of a showcase of their work and a working studio.

Botanical Design

I loved that they were selling Spring Bulbs as well as welcoming guests into their studio- Sweet!

Tango workshop

How fun is this? A Tango workshop!

Charcoal Art

A piece I loved on display at Janet Greene Jewelry Design studio

After my walking tour, I stumbled upon “Rosie’s Weenie Wagon”, which was set up in the perfect spot- between the elevator and the live music! While loading up an order of nachos for me (yum), Rosie mentioned she is available for party bookings: how fun would it be to have her wheel her cart into your yard this summer?

Rosies Weenie Wagon

Rosie working her magic on an order of loaded nachos- mmmm!

Monroe hosts Open Studio Tours about twice a year but the building is always bustling and open to the public. It’s a wonderful place to visit and is a fast growing cultural center. I had a great time on Sunday and am looking forward to returning for our Spring Cookie Workshops March 31st and April 1st! Check out our Workshop Schedule and come join in the fun!   Xo Dani

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to An Open Studio Tour at Monroe Center

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Open Studio Tour at Monroe Center at THE JUICE.

meta